Quick Links

  • Undergraduate Studies
  • Postgraduate Studies
  • Staff Profiles

Contact Details

The Head

Department of Physics

Tel: +260-211-290429


About the Department

The Department of Physics is situated between the Department of Mathematics and Statistics and the Department and the Chemistry Department in the School of Natural Sciences.  The department offers exciting study programs which greatly enhance the future prospects of graduates.  At undergraduate level, the programmes of the department offer specialization in the traditional areas of Solid State Physics, Nuclear Physics, Theoretical Physics and Electronics. New offerings are now available in the fields of Energy and the Environment, Computational Physics and Applied Optics.

In order to pursue studies in the Department of Physics, a student should ideally opt for the Physical Sciences stream during the streaming exercise in the second semester of first year.  However, students from the Life Sciences stream are also accepted.

The Department of Physics offers four different B.Sc. degree programmes. These are the Physics single-subject major programme and three Physics double-major programmes where core physics courses are taken in combination with courses from either Mathematics or Chemistry or Geology.

The Department of Physics offers a Masters course with research activities in Condensed Matter Physics, Nuclear Physics, Theoretical Physics, Computational Physics, Electronics, as well as Solar Energy and its Applications. Students can in addition pursue special programmes in collaboration with foreign partner universities.  An example is the Masters in Sustainable Energy Engineering and the Masters in Materials Science. Follow-up Ph.D. programmes on the above-mentioned are also available.

 The aim of the Department of Physics is to produce physics graduates who can play key roles in both the public and private sectors of the Zambian economy.